Transracial Adoption from one black girl’s perspective

First Contact – Found Birth Mother – Not BF

Spoke to the birth mother last night for about 50 minutes. I'm still reeling a bit, but what I’m getting from the situation is that I was given away because I am black. Its ironic that I was adopted under the assumption that I was Asian/not black and I’m wondering if her decision to put R***/Not BF as the BF on the certificate was deliberate to keep me from knowing that. I’m not sure why the first thing I have to put up here is some negative shit – but I'm dealing with that and looking within to attempt to figure it out.

My mom and dad are excited, and it seems that this is supposed to be exciting news. and I cant figure out why every part of me is just skeptical and cautious and nervous. It may be a defense mechanism, to try to protect myself. I haven’t told anyone else yet except for two people really close to me. again – possible protection.

I got an email from her that sounded urgent and so for some reason I chose to call her instead of R****

I called about 8pm and spoke with her. The first few seconds were awkward in that neither of us knew what to say and so we ended up just crying for the first 3 minutes. She is 56, was pregnant with me when she was 19, had me when she was 20. So that makes sense in terms of my age. I'll be 36 in March. She remembered my birth being in 1969, but … it could be so.

Now every piece of my feminist/gender sharp mind is ringing right now as I'm about to write this down. And I want to be clear, that I do NOT in any way want to diminish her experience, or claim that she is not telling me the truth about the circumstances of my conception. However, like I mentioned at the opening of this entry, I'm feelin skeptical and since this is my blog….

G**** told me that R**** is not the father. She said when she saw my picture, she knew who the father was. The father was a black man, P*****, who lived in the same black area in Seattle that she grew up in. She said he was tall, handsome and possibly had 2 or 3 kids already. She said he was around 19, and was at some point married to a black woman in Seattle. She also tells me that R**** used to sell dope, he sold P**** some bad drugs, P**** and his boys came looking for R**** and P**** raped her.

So now, before I get into the surrealness of having to deal with being a product of rape (and HOW to deal with that is quite a question), I want to mention that from our conversations, its clear to me that G**** has issues of her own with black folks, and is clearly a product of her growing up with a white mother. He mother was French, German, English and Irish.. although I'm not sure how that came about – and her father was Filipino and Spanish. From what I understand from this conversation, she lived with her mother and not her father. But I’m getting some clarification on that. Her father was one of the first Filipinos to come over to Hawaii in the early 20th century. I have a history people. :) ok.. so that made me a little excited.

back to the circumstances of P****/R****. She mentioned that she had never been with anyone except for R****. She didn’t specify if the rape had anything to do with the divorce, only that R****was so fucked up on drugs that she felt she couldn’t take care of me without him. She said that when she found out she was pregnant, she didn’t tell her mother, flew to NY to stay with some friends and ended up back in WA once she couldn’t get state aide. She stayed with her mother during the pregnancy, and she says she didn’t got out of the house or call her friends. So clearly I was a secret to some. But, I ask you – if she was married to R****, why then did it have to be a secret if she didn’t have any doubts about me being his child?

Which brings us back to a comment she made, after she mentioned that she stayed in the house during the pregnancy, I said, yes – I understand that because it was 1970 and the attitudes about unwed mothers is messed up. but she added "well, it was also the racial situation that made it worse". I didn’t catch it right away, but I should have said, why would the racial situation make it worse? But clearly, what I am inferring from this situation, is that she knew that I wasn’t R****'s kid.

so.. what to do with that in terms of the 'truth' of the story. It just brings me back to the speculation part. What if, for example, I am a product of an affair, a short lived affair that broke up the marriage, and her Catholic training, and her white mother were 'ashamed' of the situation…. and you get the idea. But I repeat – if a rape is what happened, then I am sad and angered for her trauma.

On that note – what if I am a product of violence? It makes it much more difficult I think to walk up to a brotha and say, 'hey – I’m your kid'.

oh and Let me just say it out loud.. I KNEW I was freakin black!!! lol…

Oh yeah… did I mention she freakin requested that I be placed with white people? What is THAT about? I was like.. so YOU did this to me? lol….

I called my mom and dad and let them know what is going on. right about now, I’m NOTHING but thankful and sending up MUCH love to the Creator for her hand in my life. My parents are … I have no words except – I love them, and I am blessed, blessed, blessed.

more soon. my head feels like its gonna explode. lol.

5 responses

  1. Wow, hon. So many things for you to absorb and process. I can identify with your experience — not word for word, but in spirit and in bits & pieces.

    This birth family business is some twisted shit, yeah? Exciting in the heart-stopping sense, but also arouses a lot of caution and defensiveness, don’t I know. Just remember that every one of your feelings and reactions is valid.

    At least we got our nice white folks to be thankful for, right? *lol*

    I’ll write you more later on.

    February 6, 2006 at 6:45 am

  2. Pingback: PTSD III « A Birth Project

  3. Christy Smith

    To make a long story short, I was adopted at the age of 6 after spending some of the most crutial years of my life being tossed from one foster home to the next, and physically or sexually abused in every one. To make it worse they seperated me from my baby brother who was the only love I knew. My birth mother was unfit, addicted to drugs and alcohol, and turned to prostitution for money. She even used me in her sex play for the child molesters. By the grace of God, my brother and I were taken out of CPS custody and placed with Catolic Charities. They found us a home and we were reunited and apodted by really amazing parents. I always looked different from my caucasian family and it bothered me so much! I had thick black hair, big dark eyes, and olive skin. I just wanted to be blond like my adopted sisters! They told me I was half Native American and White, but werent really sure who my father was. I have spent my whole life just trying to cope with being different and a sexual assault survivor, and I have done a pretty dam good job at it! I am very strong and have spent years in therapy to cope with my eating disorder I developed in junior high. I just turned 35. My brother and I decided to search for our birth mother. She died of a heart attack a few weeks before our reunion…if that wasn’t sad enough, we found her sister, our birth Aunt, and she informed me that my Birth mother was gang raped by several Hispanic men at 15 years old and a virgin…I am the product of that Gang Rape! Just when I thought I was on a path to healing and recovery from my eating disorder BAMMMMMMMMM! i DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO OR HOW TO FEEL RIGHT NOW! I am blessed with good family and friends who love and pray for me right now, but I’m in a panic, a frenzy Im running in circles and going no where fast! I waant to runnnnn! That,s all I know how to do when I dont know what to do!!!!!!

    June 16, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  4. Carolyn Speer

    Christy: I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for your courage in telling your story. I believe that each and every one of us is born for a reason and for a purpose. By telling your story and by my reading your story, you have helped me to solve a question I have been working on for over 40 years, whether or not to tell my son he was the product of rape. Let us go forward with our lives and rejoyce in the fact that you, my son and I have a right be to here. Our jobs are to make this a better place for everyone.
    Amen

    September 8, 2008 at 7:24 pm

  5. Mel

    Wow. Just started thinking about starting the search for my birth Mum and Dad. Your words are inspirational! Thanks for putting it out there for others to see. Anonymous. Northern Ireland

    May 19, 2012 at 4:45 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers