Transracial Adoption from one black girl’s perspective

My Dad’s Alaskan Salmon and Sweet Corn Chowder Recipe

My Dad’s Alaskan Salmon and Sweet Corn Chowder Recipe (re-post from a facebook note)

(altered a little by me)

1/2 cup chopped onion
few cloves of minced garlic (depending on your taste, I like lots)
2 cups low sodium chicken broth (I use veggie broth)
1 can low fat milk
2 tbsp margarine (I use butter)
1/2 to full can corn
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 cup diced red potatoes
1 cup diced carrots (I dont have carrots today)
1/2 tsp thyme
1-2 can’s of Alaskan Smoke Salmon (my mom buys this crazy “Captain Jim’s Gourmet” kind- yummmmmy)
salt, pepper, cayenne to taste

Drain and flake Alaskan Smoked Salmon, reserving liquid. Saute` onions, celery and garlic with margarine, in a medium saucepan. Add potatoes, carrots, reserved salmon liquid, chicken broth and seasonings. Simmer, covered 25 minutes, or untilvegetables are tender. Add flaked salmon, milk and corn; heat thoroughly. Sprinkle with minced parsley to serve. Enjoy!

chowder11chowder21

YUMMMmmmmm!

7 responses

  1. Sad to say I don’t think I’ve ever had canned salmon. This sounds really good though, so that might be something I won’t be able to say soon. :-) Thanks for sharing this.

    March 2, 2009 at 8:38 pm

  2. Yvette

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    You Are About To Discover The Ultra Rare Secrets To Stopping A Breakup, Divorce Or Getting Your Ex Back….Even If The Situation Seems Completely IMPOSSIBLE

    March 2, 2009 at 11:38 pm

  3. HCP

    This recipe looks delicious, but I can’t find canned smoked salmon ANYWHERE! I’m dying to try it — any suggestions? What am I missing? I’m in Oakland . . .

    March 31, 2009 at 11:42 am

  4. Bob Jackson

    Ridiculous! Makes you want to eat for a living! Lisa Marie knows her Chowder (and we need food like this when people like Madonna keep tryin to steal children from Africa – haven’t white people stolen enough black people yet?) All this rage makes me hungry – and this is sustenance food.

    April 3, 2009 at 6:22 pm

  5. Pingback: Alaskan Smoked Salmon Recipes, An Elegant Alternative

  6. I am wondering what CMS your blog uses? It looks fantastic and I like all the website visitor options that are available. Sorry if this is the incorrect place to ask this but I wasn’t sure how to get in touch with you – thank you.

    March 8, 2010 at 10:29 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers