Central and South American Adult Adoptees

I just got off the phone with someone who was working with an organization called Probusqueda in Central America. I was really excited to hear about the work being done here, particularly for my Latino/a brothers and sistas who are now in a place where they may need to travel back to a country they have never been to, this organization looks to be one resource for them. Has anyone had any experience with this group?

You all know I’ve been working on the development of AFAAD, and really, Ive been modelling the organziation on the work I see done by IKAA and others who have support services for adults beginning their searches across borders. I mean really, if I am adopted from Africa – how do I go back? What do I do? Where do I begin? As a domestic adoptee, I’m pretty versed in the process, but for my international folks, I’m just learning as we speak. And Im determined to make sure these services are in place. Especially when Madonna’s kid, David freaks out and wants to see his family. heh.

Do you all know of any organizations that are specific to adult adoptees whether international or domestic that are geared for our counterparts with birth parents who are in Central or South America? or even Adult adoptee orgs for Latino/ Chicano adults in the U.S.?

6 thoughts on “Central and South American Adult Adoptees

  1. Sadly, I do not know of any organizations that can provide search support for Latino/Chicano adoptees. However, have you checked out Swirl or Mavin? They are two organizations for people who are multi-racial and/or multi-cultural. I am not involved with them, but I have heard that they are welcoming to transracial adoptees and have transracial adoptees as members. Perhaps the conversation on search and reunion in Central and South America has also started within those orgs? And, because the orgs include non-adoptees, there may be people who are willing to help adoptees search AND know the languages and cultures?

    There is also a new adoptee group forming in the US – the International Adoptee Congress. They may begin services for all international adoptees, not just the Koreans and Vietnamese.

  2. I have worked with Pro-Búsqueda. They do amazing work reconecting families seperated during the armed conflict in El Salvador. I was actually in El Salvador in December of 2005 when Padre Jon Cortina, who helped found Pro-Búsqueda, passed away. Father Cortina’s work with Pro-Búsqueda is another example of the amazing and selfless work that the Compañia de Jesus (the jesuits) has done in El Salvador since the 1960s. I recently read an article written in 1985 by Segundo Montes, a Jesuit who was killed in the 1989 Jesuit massacre in San Salvador. The article is about immigration and refugees. What Montes wrote more than 20 ago about the effects of immigration and family seperation has sadly come true. Hopefully, we can honor the memory of Montes by heeding his words and fighting for immigration reform that reunites familys.

  3. The words of Segundo Montes:
    “Lastly, if the family is the base of society, as is recognized by the political constitution, and as is accepted by the social sciences, given that it is the primary and fundamental socializer, the disintegration of many families will have profound repurcusions in the future generation and society in general. The violent death, or absences of a father of adult males, the process of abnormal familiar socialization of many children, sometimes not even related, uunder the care of a single woman, and or frequently an elderly person, in “artificial” living conditions can not do less than make a deep mark in the formation of the individual and societal personalities of considerable portion of Salvadoran society”
    -Father Segundo Montes, SJ. 1985. (my translation)
    Unfortunatly, this process of disintergration of families, already underway in 1985, has been exacerbated since the 1992 peace accords, because of ecomonically driven migration.

  4. I am the person who has been working with Pro-Busqueda and I am grateful to LisaMarie for putting this information out there. I am not an adoptee but am working with the Human Rights Center to better understand TRA experiences and how that intersects with Pro-Busqueda’s work. I am currently trying to understand how support groups work in order for Pro-Busqueda to start one in the US. For privacy reasons I cannot contact the persons who have returned to El Salvador to meet their families. I recently read a book called ‘Outsiders Within’ and there is a wonderful story written by a man who, through Pro-Busqueda, returned home to meet his family. I am wondering if this might be the Patrick who is participating in this online conversation. If it is, and of you are interested, please contact me at lanikent@berkeley.edu.

    I hope this isn’t crossing any unspoken blogging lines, as I’ve never blogged before.

  5. I am seeking advice about how to search for my adopted son’s biological family. I contacted Pro-Busqueda several years ago and spoke with Father Cortina, who recommended I come to El Salvador to do more searching. I am now planning to go in December and have written to Pro-Busqueda for help but wonder if anyone has any other advice about searching. My son was 3 or 4 when I adopted him in San Salvador in 1976 and had been in an orphanage for a couple of months before I got him. The U.S. agency that worked with me (Friends of Children based in Atlanta) no longer exists and I need to find out the name of the Salvadoran orphanage he was in and anything else I can find about his pre-adoption circumstances. Any advice is deeply appreciated!

Leave a Reply

