Hey! Im in the paper!

AFAAD got some prop’s in the SF Chronicle this week! yay!  Reyhan Harmanci writes an alternative reading of the film Juno in her article, “Some not smiling over Juno’s sarcasm on China”.

San Rafael real estate agent Lo Mei Seh was shocked when she saw a theatrical trailer for the hit movie “Juno” in December. In one scene, the title character sarcastically tells the rich suburban couple hoping to adopt her unborn child, “You shoulda gone to China. You know, ’cause I hear they give away babies like free iPods. You know, they pretty much just put them in those T-shirt guns and shoot them out at sporting events.”

[Hear readers’ opinions on the “iPod scene.”]

Seh, the mother of two adopted Chinese girls, noticed a young Asian girl sitting behind her getting noticeably upset and muttering, “That’s so mean and unfair.”

“I calmed myself down, saying these things are just going to happen, and as a parent I have to teach my children to be strong,” she says. But after that particular scene was shown on televised award shows like the Golden Globes and the Screen Actors Guild awards, she became angry all over again.

Read the full article here.

3 thoughts on “Hey! Im in the paper!

  1. Yay! Someone told me about the article when I was at a meeting at Planned Parenthood (I was actually ranting about the sorry portrayal of abortion clinics in Juno) and I got so excited when I saw your quotes and mention of Outsiders Within. Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

